top of page

First Impressions & Getting to know your mentor


Main points for "Getting to know your mentor":

First impressions are huge. When you meet your mentor smile, look them in the eyes, shake their hand, and tell them your name. Continue this great first impression by thanking your mentor for this wonderful opportunity. This shows your excitement and appreciation for them investing their time in you to share their knowledge. Communication is always an important factor in building relationships. So some conversation starts can include..."Do you, or did you, have a mentor(s)? In what ways did you benefit? How did that person help you?" (This migh

t open up into a conversion about why they are excited to mentor you), "How did you choose your career?", or "What are the advantages of work in your field? Disadvantages?" (This lets them talk about a field where they know a ton about and allows you learn). Just how you're eager to learn about your mentor so is your mentor eager to learn about you. So have some answers prepared for some possible questions. Such as "What are the advantages of work in your field? Disadvantages?", "What is your goal from this mentorship?", or " Why should I give you my time?" Directing the conversation should be focus on you and avoiding dislikes or negative talking. Also remember your appearance is the first thing people see so dress appropriate.

First impression podcast:

Also hit the great first impressions concept. As well as talked about being punctual because this means you're trust worthy and reliable. Remember your managers and coworkers names along with some facts about them. Understand your company and their polices. Get noticed by tackling those task that need to be down, but no one has been able to. Get involved and communicate .

What do you envision gaining from your mentorship?

I envision gaining a better understanding and new look into the field of my career interest. To learn what it really means to be a part of that field. To learn what types of scenarios you would have to deal with on a daily bases and the work environment you would be in.

What actions will you take to ensure you get the most from your experiences?

I will be sure to communicate with my mentor and everyone ill be working with. I will do my best to build a positive and on growing g relationship with my mentor. I will be sure to listen and continue to learn everyday I am there.

How is this preparing you for the future?

I believe this is preparing me for my future by giving me an inside look into what the future can hold. By exposing me to situations most would experience later in life and preparing me with how to deal with them. Along with giving me the chance to began building positive and helpful relationships early

bottom of page