top of page

"Getting Ready For Your Mentor"


Main points for "Getting Ready For Your Mentor":

While at the work place:

I think the most important point of this article is to take initiative. Do not expect to be told what exactly to do or when. If you see something that needs to be done that you can do then do it. Also ask your mentor if there is anything you can do. Its you responsibility to make sure you take advantage of this opportunity to its fullest potential. So make sure you're learning, ask questions, and are helping. Not to mention if you strengthen your bond between your mentor and co-workers you make it a better situation for everyone as its hard to strive and work together without communication. So take it upon yourself to learn about the people you are working with along with the protocols of the company you're working for. If you put tons of work into this then everyone else puts a ton of work into this, so be enthusiastic. Plus you get to create excellent new relationships (aka networking) for the future and build your portfolio. One last important detail, act professional. As in arrive a bit early to your work place, do not gossip, and dress appropriate.

Now for the actual getting ready before stuff:

The article mentioned about talking to your mentor before you start to clarify important details, such as when is your start date and time,directions to your work place, what are the job expectations, where should you park (if you're driving to the company), what is the dress code ( a good rule mentioned is if you're trying to decide whether its appropriate or not then best go with not).

Before reading the article "Getting Ready For Your Mentor", I felt I knew the bases of what the article had said but not how to actually do them. For instance I knew I should create good relationships with my mentor and co-workers, but I was not sure how to. Then the article mentioned how I could do 20 minute interviews with them to help our communication. So after reading the article I learned how to actually follow through with those basic key points I knew I had to do. Thus I found this article useful and full with the extra little details that go a long way.

bottom of page